Anonymity

Forget not the lessons of Penny Arcade, for they may save you. It’s thoughts like these that make me wish people could be held more socially accountable for the actions they take in environments like forums and games where they feel they cannot be held accountable. Would you really get in someone’s face (their real, physical, six-inches-from-your-face-face) and say the things you do on forums?

You are making the world a sadder place.

~ by thade on September 10, 2008.

3 Responses to “Anonymity”

  1. Not sure where this one is coming from man, but it makes me sad that yer getting stuck in the position of janitor. My one suggestion is stop feeding the fire. People want to disagree, let them, but posts like this just give trolls the butterflies in their stomach feeling that makes them do what they do.

    Ironbreaker 4 life

  2. It’s coming from reading too many forum posts. @_@

  3. Yes, I’ve actually ignored most forums for the last few days as I felt my spirit wane. I now go to dev trackers and then perhaps check the Rune Priest forums on WHA or ones with sensible titles on Freddyshouse.

    We’re also getting quite a few private messages about access to the EU beta and what’s going on, and though last week Spinks was down and I posted, this week it’s the other way around.

    I feel for people, too much sometimes, and I want the headstart as much as anyone else, but the levels of vitriol are insane.

    I’ve been asked to kick a certain someone at Games Day and I won’t even do it as a joke!

Leave a Reply

 
