If you can’t load the Greenskin’s blog

you are not alone. Some locations on the planet are restricted and should not be; apparently, Snafgz’s site provider is trying to do something about it, but they need data to figure out what the problem is. That’s where you come in. Here follows a message from Snafgz:

Hi guys and gals,

This is going to sound like a horrible spam request, but I assure you it isn’t.

I’ve been having a really brutal persistent issue with many people in Asian/Oceanic countries not being able to visit my blog. I will write about this on my own site, but obviously I won’t be able to reach as many of my target audience for this message as you … because they can’t actually see my site! :P Is there any chance you would mind posting this information request on your blogs?If someone can’t see my site, here’s what I need from them:

  • Their IP address (http://whatismyip.com)
  • A traceroute from their computer to my site (“tracert thegreenskin.com” from the command prompt) – at some point they will start to see a string of * symbols as output
  • Their country (where they can’t visit my blog from)

If they send their IP address, traceroute output, and country in an email to snafzg@gmail.com, I can forward it along to my Web host and we can begin to fix the problem. None of this information will be shared with anyone else even though none of it is very sensitive to begin with.

I hate to put out a request like this, but I can’t think of any way to solve the issue. I’m sure you all have a lot of crossover readership, but a lot of unique reach into the community as well, which is what I’m hoping for. I even sent this along to Browncoat over at WHA, hoping they can help me out. Fingers crossed!

Please don’t hesitate to reply with any questions or concerns and I’ll do my best to answer. Also, please send me a link to your post once you have it up, and I’ll keep a list on my site to send you all return traffic.

Thanks in advance!

Snaffy
http://thegreenskin.com

Let me affirm that sending this information to Snafgz will in no way make you any more vulnerable to hackers than you already are. This may make you feel more uncomfortable, but determining your IP is a very, very easy thing to do remotely. For example, this site (wordpress) shows me the IPs of people who comment. In fact it very well could show me the IPs of anybody who visits my website period (but the list would be enormous…not because of you fine peeps, but because of webcrawling bots, catalogers, etc). Really if you ping a home machine and say “Who are you?” it’ll tell you. It’s just like driving up to someone’s house and peeking at their address. Passing this info along to Snafgz could help him remedy this issue, and then you’d get one of the best Warhammer Online blogs on the net. You want to do this. <3

Hi, I’m Thade, and I support this message.

~ by thade on October 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “If you can’t load the Greenskin’s blog”

  1. No need to worry now mate
    I’m the one who brought it up and i sent my info to greenskin and it was fixed before you posted this :P
    But yeah when trying to convince my mates to also send their I.Ps i ran into difficulty because they thought he could do something with it even though i knew better.

  2. People basically have a huge neon sign over their heads announcing their IP when they browse around online. It’s no big secret at all.

    I think people just associate it to a SSN in their minds and thus worry over it.

  3. Thanks! :D

  4. […] Archmagery Related Posts (auto-generated)TheGreenskin Analytics – 7 Months of Blogging…Happy New Year!…Say “Hello!” to the 2007 Greeny Award Winners!…New(ish) WAR Blog on the Block!…Help Wanted!… […]

Leave a Reply

 
